Amendments to LOR Regulations approved

Amendments to LOR Regulations approved

Date: Mar, 06, 2017 12:00 PM EDT

CAMBRIDGE, ON – At the Semi-Annual Meeting of the Members of the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) held in Toronto on March 4, 2017, various amendments to the Regulations governing the Lake Ontario Region (LOR) were approved.

The amended Regulations align the concepts of community based programming and the Club-based system of free player movement, by encouraging younger players to participate and develop in their residential centres while offering older players the choice to play in either their residential centre or elsewhere in the LOR.

“A lot has changed both in and out of hockey since the Lake Ontario Region first formed 20 years ago,” said Tony Foresi, OHF President. “These revisions have come after a lot of discussion and consideration and the OHF Officers have been pleased to facilitate this process.”

Along with the changes to Regulations, comes the creation an LOR Review Committee, comprising representatives from the OMHA and GTHL and chaired by an OHF Officer. While this Committee will be responsible for monitoring the impact of the amendments to the LOR Regulations, it has also been tasked with a specific goal of ensuring the provision of a seamless and positive playing experience by working to achieve a stable environment for all LOR participants (Clubs, Associations, coaches, parents, and players.)

The new Regulations come into effect for the 2017-18 season, including the AAA, AA and A tryouts which can begin on April 10, 2017. The OMHA and GTHL will be working closely with their Associations and Clubs leading up to and during tryouts.

For more information on the amended Regulations, click here
The LOR encompasses the whole of the GTHL (Toronto, Markham, Mississauga, and Vaughan) and the OMHA Associations/Centres (Oakville, Brampton, Richmond Hill, Markham, Ajax and Pickering.) It has been in existence since the 1997-1998 season, to address the unique geographical area in and around the Greater Toronto Area.

About the Ontario Hockey Federation

The OHF has been in existence since 1989 and is comprised of seven Member Partners: the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario (Alliance), the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL), Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA), Ontario Hockey Association (OHA), the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) and the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association (OWHA.)