OHF hands out the hardware

OHF hands out the hardware

Date: Jun, 26, 2017 12:00 PM EDT

CAMBRIDGE, ON – Seven outstanding individuals have been honoured by the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) at the Annual Awards Banquet and Annual General Meeting. These award winners demonstrate true leadership throughout the OHF and are the backbone upon which amateur hockey is built.

The OHF Awards Program was introduced during the 2001-2002 season to formally recognize the efforts and achievements of volunteers who dedicate themselves to furthering the mission of the OHF. Three of the awards still being presented today were introduced in that first year of the program: the Dr. Allan Morris Award, President’s Award and OHF Volunteer of the Year Award. The following season, the OHF Order of Merit and OHF Officiating Award were introduced. The Christine Penman ‘Companion’ Award was first handed out in the 2012-2013 season.

However, the OHF has been handing out one award, the Bill Richmond Memorial Award, since 1996. This year, Tom Bly (Barrie, OMHA) is the recipient, for his outstanding achievement in hockey development.

The Dr. Allan Morris Award was presented to Gaston Lescault (Hanmer, NOHA), in recognition of two decades of involvement with the game, along with the creation of the Nickel City Hockey Association.

Mr. Foresi selected John Kastner (Stratford, OHF) to receive the 2016-2017 President’s Award. Mr. Kastner is the OHF 2nd Vice President and has been actively involved with hockey administration at both minor and junior level, since the early 1980’s.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to John Welsh (Peterborough, OMHA). As a minor hockey association President, Mr. Welsh has been critical in the development of hockey programming for the Peterborough area.

Keith Woods (London, ALLIANCE) was awarded the OHF Order of Merit, for his significant contributions to the London and ALLIANCE hockey communities. At 75 years young, Mr. Woods is still one of the first to volunteer as ALLIANCE representative for any OHF event.

The Officiating Award, in recognition of contributions to the game, officiating skills and dedication to the Branch, was presented to Matt Davie (Copper Cliff, NOHA). Mr. Davie is the referee-in-chief for the Sudbury Region, and is involved in the supervision and assigning of officials for the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League and Great North Midget League.

Finally, the Christine Penman ‘Companion’ Award was presented to Diane Riddle (Sudbury, NOHA). Mrs. Riddle has been accompanying her husband Hugh to hockey events for the last 20 years, but has also been involved in the game as a frequent volunteer with her local minor hockey association. Her cooperative spirit and notions of goodwill are infectious among OHF Companions and Board Members.