2017-18 OHA Award Recipients off to Hockey Hall of Fame this Friday

2017-18 OHA Award Recipients off to Hockey Hall of Fame this Friday

Date: May, 28, 2018 11:59 AM EDT

Cambridge, Ont - 2017-18 OHA Award Recipients off to Hockey Hall of Fame this Friday, following another exciting season full of upsets and victories seeing the Buckland Cup, Sutherland Cup and Schmalz Cup engraved with new reigning champions.

OHA Award Winners for the 2017-2018 Season

2017-18 OHA Officials Awards:

The OHA Top Referee Prospect is Ty Sebastian, the OHA Top Linesman Prospect is Tyson Baker, and Jesse Wilmot is the recipient of the OHA Officiating Award of Excellence.

2017-18 OHA Top Prospects:

Jett Alexander (Goaltender - North York Rangers/OJHL); Declan Carlile (Defenceman - Wellington Dukes/OJHL); Colton Kalezic (Forward - Toronto Patriots/OJHL); Dustyn McFaul (Defenceman - Pickering Panthers/OJHL); Kaleb Pearson (Forward - Stratford Warriors/GOJHL); and Mason Snell (Defenceman - Wellington Dukes/OJHL).


Cory Birk, Listowel Cyclones

2017-18 OHA Coach of the Year

John Nelson, Head Coach of the GOJHL LaSalle Vipers

2017-18 Player of the Year Award

Jr. A: Andrew Petrucci, Toronto Patriots (OJHL)

Jr. B: Jack Scanlan, Stratford Warriors (GOJHL)

Jr. C: Brock MacDonald, Lambeth Lancers (PJHL)

2017-18 B.J. Monro Memorial Award

Jack McBain, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (OJHL)

2017-18 OHA Donald Sanderson Memorial Award

Ryan Casselman, Napanee Raiders (PJHL)

2017-18 OHA Awards recipients will formally receive their Awards at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto this Friday, June 1, 2018.

2017-18 Cup Championship Winners

Jr A (OJHL) – Buckland Cup: The Wellington Dukes won the OHA Buckland Cup, beating the Georgetown Raiders four games to two. The Dukes went on to play in and win the Dudley-Hewitt Cup, and later – fell by just two goals in the finals against the Chilliwack Chiefs at the RBC Cup, THE Canada's National Junior A Championship.

Jr B (GOJHL) – Sutherland Cup: The Listowel Cyclones captured the franchise’s first Sutherland Cup, sweeping the Caledonia Corvairs in four games. They also won the Cherrey Cup for the second year in a row over the (then) reigning Sutherland Cup champs the Elmira Sugar Kings again in a four- game sweep.

Jr C (PJHL) – Schmalz Cup: The Lakefield Chiefs won the Schmalz Cup, defeating the Glanbrook Rangers in five games. The team finished in first place in the Orr Division, having ended the regular season on a 17-game winning streak.