2018 OHF Bursary Recipients Announced

2018 OHF Bursary Recipients Announced

Date: Aug, 31, 2018 12:00 PM EDT

CAMBRIDGE, Ont - The Ontario Hockey Federation is proud to announce the 2018 OHF Bursary Award recipients.

The OHF Bursary Program was introduced in 1997 to recognize and reward dedication in education and hockey. The program provides financial assistance to registered OHF participants to offset the cost of post-secondary education. Over the past 21 years, the OHF has distributed more than $420,000 to over 390 post-secondary students.

Each year, the OHF awards bursaries to outstanding young people who display an incredible amount of commitment both at the arena and in the classroom. The bursary recipients are determined on the basis of academic achievements, hockey involvement and community involvement.

An outstanding number of applications were received this year, sharing stories of minor hockey success and plans for their future. Out of the applications, 30 individuals were selected - eleven recipients from the OWHA , seven recipients from the NOHA, four recipients from the OMHA, three recipients from ALLIANCE, three recipients from the GTHL and two recipients from the OHA.


Recipient Hometown OHF Member
Alexander (Alec) Trusler Sarnia OHA
Andrew Warner Brighton OMHA
Anthony Principe Sault Ste. Marie NOHA
Claudie Lecours Sault Ste. Marie OWHA
Colin Rodenburg Dorchester OMHA
Denys Reid St. Thomas OMHA
Fiona Milligan Ottawa OWHA
Hannah Warriner Newmarket OWHA
Jackson Dewar Kitchener ALLIANCE
Jackson Mclean Sudbury NOHA
Jared Dupuis Iroquois Falls NOHA
Justin Perron North Bay NOHA
Kayla Groulx Cornwall OWHA
Kristen Swiatoschik LaSalle OWHA
Liam Fayle London ALLIANCE
Linda Hutchinson Mississauga GTHL
Lucas Colucci Thornhill GTHL
Maddie Peters Harrow OWHA
Madison Stapleton Harrow OWHA
Madyson Sharp Temiskaming Shores NOHA
Matteya Wendling Port Colborne OWHA
Matthew Ing Toronto GTHL
Michael Suszter Callander NOHA
Miranda Charlebois Pakenham OWHA
Nicole Posesorski Toronto OWHA
Noah Desmarais Ridgeway OMHA
Payton Midgley Ridgeway OWHA
Ryan Harlen Stoney Creek ALLIANCE
Samuel Baker-Pauley Sundridge OHA
Tristan Lachance Sturgeon Falls NOHA
Each year BFL Canada donates a $1,000.00 educational bursary to a deserving player for his or her continued education, the Jim Stirling Scholarship Bursary is awarded to the top OHF Bursary applicant who receives the top ranking from the OHF Bursary Committee. This years recipient is Matteya Wendling of the OWHA who received near perfect scores from the committee.

Having been in existence since 1989 the OHF is comprised of seven Members: the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario (Alliance), the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL), Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA), Ontario Hockey Association (OHA), the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) and the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association (OWHA.)

– 30 –

For more information:

Ali Wilson
Ontario Hockey Federation
Manager, Communications, Content Services, Registration