The OHF provides transparency on Hockey Canada Assessment Fees

The OHF provides transparency on Hockey Canada Assessment Fees

Date: Nov, 04, 2022 10:00 AM EDT

CAMBRIDGE, ON (November 4, 2022) – The Ontario Hockey Federation, based on feedback from Members and stakeholders within our jurisdiction, made a request to Hockey Canada to not collect the Hockey Canada Assessment Fee for the 2022-2023 season.  Hockey Canada considered and adopted this request.  Hockey Canada has stated that they will not be collecting the $3.00 Hockey Canada Assessment fee for the 2022-23 hockey season.  

The Ontario Hockey Federation has not collected the $3.00 Hockey Canada Assessment Fee.  To continue with the value of transparency that the Ontario Hockey Federation has provided it passed the following motion to reflect the direction on the $3.00 Hockey Canada Assessment Fee:

  • That it be publicly stated that the OHF and the OHF Members are not collecting or retaining the $3.00 Hockey Canada Assessment and if it has been collected by the Association that the Association will provide communication to their participants on how participants are benefiting from the return of these funds.
  • That it be publicly stated that the OHF is not retaining any of Hockey Canada Assessment Fee for officiating and the OHF Members will credit to the official for the next season and if the official does not return the following season the funds would remain in the officiating program of the Member to benefit all officials.  Members would provide communication to their officials on how the funds from non-returning officials was used.

Therefore, if an Association has collected the fee, it is the responsibility of that Association to provide communication out to their Registered Participants on how they will be returning or providing benefit from the return of these funds.


The Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) is the Provincial Sport Organization for the sport of Hockey and is the largest member of Hockey Canada operating alongside Hockey Eastern Ontario (HEO) and Hockey Northwestern Ontario (HNO) as governing bodies for amateur hockey in Ontario. The OHF operates within a structure that is comprised of seven member partners: Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario (ALLIANCE), Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL), Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA)Ontario Hockey Association (OHA)Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA)and Ontario Women’s Hockey Association (OWHA). Each operating under specific programs to their area or jurisdiction, following Hockey Canada and OHF Regulations, Rules and Policies.