Officiating Certification

Certification at all levels, except Level I, is a two-part process involving clinical and practical assessment. From the point of view of the clinic, the official must attend all sessions and must obtain the minimum mark on the examination.

Once certified, it is essential that an official continue to update and be completely familiar with new rule interpretations and officiating techniques. To maintain one's present level of certification, an individual must attend a full Hockey Canada officiating program clinic and write a national examination every year with appropriate passing mark.

An individual must be at least 16 years of age to be certified at Level II or higher.

An individual will not be eligible to advance more than one level of the Hockey Canada officiating program per season, except for Levels I and II.

Level System

If you are interested in becoming a hockey official – this is for you! It will provide you with all the information you need to get your officiating career started.

The level system, Level I through Level VI, is the foundation for the training and development of amateur hockey officials across Canada. Hockey Canada has categorized the hockey played in Canada into four basic streams, each with different priorities.

They include:

  • Initiation
  • Recreational
  • Competitive
  • Program of Excellence

The Hockey Canada officiating program has opportunities for everyone from the Initiation at Level I, through to the Program of Excellence Levels V and VI.